Monday, 24 April 2017

Uber Secretly Tracked Users Even After They Deleted The App



Uber and Unroll.me were both on the receiving end of some major backlash this past weekend after it was revealed that Unroll.me had been selling users data to Uber.

According to reports, back in 2015, Apple's CEO, Tim Cook had threatened to kick Uber out of the App store after it was discovered that Uber had been tracking formers users even after they deleted the app from their iPhones using a tool called "fingerprinting".


Uber allegedly did this to have one up on their competition - Lyft.

Since the news has gone viral, Unroll.me have released a statement via their blog.

In the statement, Unroll.me's CEO Jojo Hedaya stated that,

“All information is totally confidential and associated to purchases just. We have to do much better for our users. It was heartbreaking to see that a few of our users were distressed to discover how we monetize our totally free service,”

A spokesperson for Uber has also spoken out claiming,

“We absolutely do not track individual users or their location if they’ve deleted the app. As the New York Times story notes towards the very end, this is a typical way to prevent fraudsters from loading Uber onto a stolen phone, putting in a stolen credit card, taking an expensive ride and then wiping the phone—over and over again. Similar techniques are also used for detecting and blocking suspicious logins to protect our users' accounts. Being able to recognize known bad actors when they try to get back onto our network is an important security measure for both Uber and our users.”
source 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to leave your comments and thoughts below :)

Be sure to follow me on Twitter @TechGirlNG